54 Channels. 9 Languages. 1 Network
Thursday, September 29th, 2022 // Welcome to Asian Television Network, Canada


November 01, 2004

ATN - Asian Television Network International Limited is delighted to note that the Canadian Association of Broadcasters (CAB) has announced that it would be honouring distinguished members of it’s industry at the 2004 convention in Ottawa. The 13 distinguished Canadians to receive awards and honors include John Cassaday, André Bureau, Shan Chandrasekar, Dick Irvin, Max Keeping, James Macdonald, Randy Moffat, Bernie Pascall, Percy Saltzman, Claire Samson, Jimmy Tapp, Austin Willis, and Oscar Peterson. 

The CAB Broadcast Hall of Fame is private broadcasting’s highest honour for an individual and is intended to recognize long and distinguished service to the broadcasting industry in Canada. “This year’s list of Hall of Fame inductees reads like a who’s who of our cultural history,” said Glenn O’Farrell, the President of CAB. “These impressive Canadians are not only honoured for their longstanding careers, but because they have tirelessly laboured to better their communities and stand out as leaders in their field.” 

Shan Chandrasekar began his broadcast career in the early seventies following his graduation from McGill University with a Masters Degree. Over the next several years Shan's production company provided South Asian Television Programming to Rogers Cable, CITY-TV and CFMT-TV. 

Mr. Chandrasekar is now the President and CEO of ATN - Asian Television Network International Limited, a publicly listed company on the TSX Venture Exchange, which operates a number of digital television specialty channels, including services providing programming in several South Asian languages as well as in English. 

Shan is also active in the broadcasting industry as a current member of the CAB Specialty and Pay Board and the Canadian Women in Communications Board. He is on the Advisory Board of York University. He has served as a board member of the Canadian Club, The Hummingbird Centre for Performing Arts and the Multicultural History Society of the University of Toronto. He is also on the Campaign Cabinet of The Scarborough Hospital Foundation and on the Board of the Royal Conservatory of Music. 

Past recipients of the awards include stalwarts such as: Jim Pattison, JR Shaw, Moses Znaimer, Lloyd Robertson, Ted Rogers, Allan Waters, I.H. Asper, Elmer Hildebrand, Phyllis Switzer, and James Sward. The music star category inductees in the past include: Ginette Reno, Bruce Cockburn, Gordon Lightfoot, Ian Tyson, Céline Dion, Bryan Adams and Anne Murray. 

The CAB is the national voice of Canada’s private broadcasters, representing the vast majority of Canadian programming services, including private radio and television stations, networks, specialty and pay, and pay-per-view services.  

- 30 -

For more info – Carollynn Zettler at (905) 836-6460 or: www.asiantelevision.com
For biographical information, please visit the CAB website


View PDF File

Copyright © 1973 - All Rights Reserved Worldwide | Terms of Use | Resources
Website Development: ExploreWeb.COM